Andrew Pecina Ships Florida’s Largest Poker Tournament Ever; Ladies Win Big at SHRPO

Andrew Pecina Ships Florida’s Largest Poker Tournament Ever; Ladies Win Big at SHRPO

The Seminole Hard Rock Poker Open’s (SHRPO) first event — $400 Deep Stack No-Limit Hold’em — set a new Florida state record with 7,703 entries. That surpassed the previous record set last November in the first event of the Rock ‘n’ Roll Poker Open, which attracted 6,196 entries. That crushed the former number in the same number of flights!

The tournament crushed its $1 million guarantee by offering up a $2,541,990 prize pool. On Monday, Andrew Pecina (pictured above) was the last player standing, an accomplishment that was worth $225,906 after a five-way deal.

“It feels amazing. Phenomenal. Words can’t describe it,” Pecina told SHRPO officials after the win. What’s more, it was the first poke tournament he ever played at Seminole Hard Rock Hollywood. “I entered the last flight. I was alternate #530. I waited two hours to get in, and I only bought in once.”

What’s even more impressive is that Pecina did it by mounting a huge comeback.

“I was down to one big blind at one point on Day 2,” he explained. “But I came back and things just came together.”

After Corel Theuma busted in sixth place ($73,718), the remaining players agreed to a chop, and Pecina took home the largest share. Tommy Morgado was the second-place finisher, good for $186,979.

Just outside the top six was someone mixed martial arts fans would recognize. Colby Covington, a UFC star who is also an avid poker enthusiast, finished in seventh place, an impressive run that paid $48,298, his largest career score. Covington now has over $120,000 in live tournament cashes, according to The Hendon Mob.

2022 SHRPO Event #1 Final Table Results

Place Player Prize
1 Andrew Pecina $225,906*
2 Tommy Morgado $186,979*
3 Nicholas Carballo $173,368*
4 Hossein Pezeshkan $165,792*
5 David Frenkel $155,827*
6 Corel Theuma $73,718
7 Colby Covington $48,298
8 Scott Livingston $35,588
9 Vinny Monteiro $25,420

*Denotes five-handed deal.

Four Females Win Titles in Quick Succession

SHRPO LadiesClockwise from top left: Sheila O’Connor, Mica Lamar, Jennifer Borsini & Donna Stutts.

Back in April, PokerNews reported a story when multiple female champs crowned on the same day at the WPT Seminole Hard Rock Poker Showdown. Well, an arguably even bigger story developed early on in the 2022 SHRPO when four ladies captured titles in a two-day period, three of which came in open events.

First, on July 30, Sheila O’Connor topped a 124-entry field to win Event #11: $400 Pot-Limit Omaha 8 for $10,000, and on the same day Mica Lamar, who was the last player to register the tournament, bested a 66-entry field to win the 2022 SHRPO Event #12: $300 Ladies NLH for $5,000.

“It was a great group of ladies today,” said Lamar after the win. “I really enjoyed playing with them. It was a fun table. But ladies are tough. I’d rather play with the guys. With the ladies, you just really don’t know. They’re very unpredictable.”

The following day on July 31, Donna Stutts was crowned champ in Event #13: $400 Deep Stack NLH for $19,197 after a seven-way deal. Similarly, on Sunday, Jennifer Borsini navigated a 100-entry field to win Event #16: $600 NLH Turbo for $12,500 after a four-way deal.

What’s Coming Up?

The Seminole Hard Rock Poker Open, an annual tradition, continues through August 9. There are some big events left on the schedule. That includes the $5,300 buy-in SHRPO NLH Championship ($3 million guaranteed) beginning August 5, along with three high rollers — $50,000 NLH (August 4), $25,500 NLH (August 8), and $25,500 PLO (August 3).

In November, this same South Florida casino will play host to the $3,500 buy-in World Poker Tour Seminole Hard Rock ‘N’ Roll Poker Open, which features a $2 million guaranteed prize pool.

Learn More About the Seminole Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Hollywood Here!

2022 SHRPO Winners Thus Far

Date Tournament Entries Prize Pool Winner Prize
July 27-August 1 Event #1: $400 NLH Re-Entry 7,703 $2,541,990 Andrew Pecina $225,906
27-Jul Event #2: $400 Seniors NLH 50+ 272 $91,120 Robert Garcia $15,364
27-Jul Event #3: $400 Big Stack Big O 129 $43,215 Hal Rotholz $11,860
27-Jul Event #4: $200 Quad Stack Double Green Chip Bounty 212 $23,320 Eric Halpern $5,495
28-Jul Event #5: $600 Limit Omaha 8 109 $57,225 Aaron Kupin $17,015
28-Jul Event #6: $400 8-Handed PLO 144 $48,240 Kahlil Francis $13,220
28-Jul Event #7: $150 Big Stack NLH 297 $35,046 Darrell Carril $7,196
29-Jul Event #8: $400 Omaha 8/Stud 8 81 $27,135 Chris Labrie $5,328
29-Jul Event #9: $600 Double Black Chip Bounty NLH 188 $61,100 Steve Olivier $12,478
29-Jul Event #10: $600 Black Chip Bounty 5-Card PLO 149 $63,325 Vincent Fiorenza $17,240
30-Jul Event #11: $400 Pot-Limit Omaha 8 124 $41,540 Sheila O’Connor $10,000
30-Jul Event #12: $300 Ladies NLH 66 $17,160 Mica Lamar $5,000
31-Jul Event #13: $400 Deep Stack NLH 505 $169,175 Donna Stutts $19,197
July 31-August 1 Event #14: $1,100 Six-Max NLH 262 $254,140 Vincent Chauve $58,030

*Images courtesy of SHRPO.

Name Surname

Chad Holloway

Executive Editor U.S.

Executive Editor US, PokerNews Podcast co-host & 2013 WSOP Bracelet Winner.