Cody’s Wish, Flightline, Rich Strike Nominees for Secretariat Vox Populi Award

Online voting is now open to select the winner of the 13th annual Secretariat Vox Populi Award. Created by Secretariat’s late owner Penny Chenery, the Vox Populi, or “Voice of the People” award recognizes the racehorse whose popularity and racing excellence best resounded with the public and gained recognition for the sport during the past year. 

Fans can vote in the online poll at for one of three nominees selected by the Vox Populi Committee. Voters also have the option to write in a racehorse of their choice. The poll is open now through Nov. 30, with the winning recipient to be announced live on the FanDuel TV network on Dec. 5. The Vox Populi trophy presentation is scheduled to take place at Santa Anita Park on Jan. 14.

This year, three horses distanced themselves from the rest of the nominee contender pack. The first 2022 nominee is Cody’s Wish, a talented 4-year-old colt whose win in the Big Ass Fans Breeders’ Cup Dirt Mile was his fourth victory in five starts this year.  Cody’s Wish shares a heart-warming and celebrated bond with his namesake, teenager Cody Dorman.  The second nominee is Flightline, the spectacular 4-year-old colt whose electrifying performances winning the Hill ‘n’ Dale Metropolitan Handicap, the TVG Pacific Classic by 19¼ lengths, and the Longines Breeders’ Cup Classic capped off an undefeated season and an unprecedented racing career. The third nominee is Rich Strike, the sensational 80-1 longshot winner of the 2022 Kentucky Derby Presented by Woodford Reserve whose rags-to-riches story and unheralded connections sparked hope for underdogs everywhere.

“All three of these nominees are definitely talented athletes in their own individual ways as well as fan favorites that have brought heart-warming stories and interest to the sport,” said Kate Chenery Tweedy, family historian and daughter of Penny Chenery. “Fan engagement is the name of the game—and that was mom’s vision for the Vox Populi Award and any of these horses would be a worthy recipient.”

The list of previous Vox Populi winners reads as a who’s who among the sport’s contemporary superstars and beloved equine heroes: Hot Rod Charlie (2021), Authentic (2020), Bricks and Mortar (2019), Winx (2018), Ben’s Cat (2017), California Chrome (2016 and 2014), American Pharoah (2015), Mucho Macho Man (2013), Paynter (2012), Rapid Redux (2011), and 2010 inaugural winner Zenyatta.

The nominating committee for the Secretariat Vox Populi Horse of 2022 is comprised of several distinguished personalities from within and outside the racing industry who all share a keen interest and affection for the sport. For more information about the award, visit, the official website for the legendary Thoroughbred champion. Celebrating racing’s past to enrich its future, is a comprehensive online source for historical information, photography, merchandise and memorabilia chronicling the enduring legacy of the 1973 Triple Crown winner. can also be found on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.