Derrick Plumage Wins Weekend RGPS Contenders Horseshoe Council Bluffs

Over the weekend, the RunGood Poker Series (RGPS) was at Horseshoe Casino Iowa for the RGPS Contenders Horseshoe Council Bluffs $420 buy-in, $50K GTD Main Event.

The tournament attracted 826 runners over three starting flights, which blew the guarantee out of the water. In fact, the winner took home a $51,888 first-place prize, which was more than the guarantee itself!

That winner was Derrick Plumage, who also earned an exclusive invite-only seat into the 2022 RunGood All-Stars ProAM filmed at the PokerGO Studio in December.

RGPS Contenders Horseshoe Council Bluffs Final Table Results

Place Player Prize
1 Derrick Plumage $51,888
2 David Hengen $34,591
3 Kaleb Dunn $25,525
4 Gerald Pauley $19,040
5 Jesse Bowman $14,357
6 William Shrewsbury $10,946
7 Carter Clond $8,439
8 Shannon Roberts $6,580
9 Timothy Nichols $5,189
10 Adam Bacome $5,189

Day 2 Action

RGPS Final TableThe RGPS Horseshoe Council Bluffs final table.

Day 2 saw 105 players return to action, all of whom were in the money. Some players who competed but failed to make Day 2 were RecPoker’s Steve Fredlund, WSOP Circuit ring winners Mark Fink and Mo Nuwwarah, and 2021 ProAM qualifier Nathan Stueur.

One man who returned was Stanley Schrier, who was a part of what many consider to be the greatest final table in World Series of Poker (WSOP) Main Event history in 2001, one that included Phil Hellmuth, Mike Matusow, and Carlos Mortensen, just to name a few.

“All the guys were real nice,” Schrier previously told PokerNews about the experience. “I think the greatest memory was when we watched Hellmuth get busted out. He cried like a baby, and ran to his dad sitting back there. I mean, he’s really a nice guy when you get him away from poker, but he can’t take it when he losses. But he’s really a nice guy, I always kid him about it.”

Schrier nearly made the RGPS final table, ultimately falling in 11th place for $4,139. Others who cashed but fell short of the final table were Allan Mittelstaedt (14th – $3,341), Brandon Ditch (19th – $2,255), Taylor Howard (22nd – $1,886), last woman standing Barbara Stahlecker (27th – $1,597), and Zachary Nickolite (40th – $1,369),

Click here to read more about the 2001 WSOP Main Event final table!

Heads-Up Play

David Hengen began the heads-up match holding a 4:1 chip lead over Plumage, but things quickly changed. Plumage doubled on an {a-Hearts}{q-Hearts}{j-Diamonds} flop with his {k-Hearts}{10-Hearts} against the {a-Clubs}{q-Clubs} of Hengen. The {j-Hearts} on the turn gave Plumage a Royal Flush and locked up the hand to even the stacks.

In what would be the final hand of the tournament, Hengen was at-risk holding pocket sixes and flipping against the ace-queen of diamonds for Plumage. The two-diamond flop gave Plumage both straight and flush draws to go with his overs, and while the turn was a brick, an ace on the river was enough to get the job done.

Hengen, who back in February 2020 topped a 368-entry field to win the RGPS Horseshoe Council Bluffs $575 Main Event for $41,287, took second place for $24,591.

The RunGood team will now head to Jamul Casino for the San Diego Poker Classic, which is slated to run August 18-28. They will also return to Horseshoe Council Bluffs October 18-23, 2022 for a regular tour stop. For more information on upcoming RGPS events, visit

Photos courtesy RunGood

Name Surname

Chad Holloway

Executive Editor U.S.

Executive Editor US, PokerNews Podcast co-host & 2013 WSOP Bracelet Winner.