Eddy Konarske Wins 2022 Wynn Millions Mystery Bounty Poker Tournament

The 2022 Wynn Millions $1.5 million guaranteed $1,600 buy-in ‘Mystery Bounty’ no-limit hold’em event attracted a massive field of 2,013 entries, building a total prize pool of $3,049,350. Roughly a third of that money was set aside from the main prize pool to be paid out in the titular mystery bounties. Players would earn an envelope after knocking out an opponent, with a variety of different possible bounty payouts they could pull ranging anywhere from $500 all the way up to $100,000. Three players pulled the top possible payouts, all well before the final table of the event was reached. There were also five $50,000 bounties, eight $25,000 bounties, and five $10,000 bounties up for grabs.

The largest chunk of the main prize pool was awarded to eventual champion Eddy Konarske. He took home $222,000 and the trophy for the win. This was by far the largest recorder live torunament score in the Colorado resident’s live tournament career, blowing away the $37,546 he earned for winning a $3,000 buy-in high roller at last year’s Colorado Poker Championship. He now has more than $310,000 in career cashes to his name.

In addition to the title and the money, Konarske also scored 1,080 Card Player Player of the Year points as the champion. This was his first POY-qualified score of the year, but it was enough on its own to see him move into a tie for 19th place in the 2022 POY race, which is sponsored by Global Poker.

The final day of this event began with 228 players remaining and Brittney Stout in the lead. She ultimately finished in 47th place. The final table of nine was set around midnight local time, with Rambo Halpern atop the counts and Konarske in third chip position.

Konarske scored his first knockout at the final table when his A-K suited won a preflop race against the pocket threes of David Yokoyama (8th – $32,862). Around 40 minutes later he won another coin flip, this time having pocket sevens hold facing the K-J of Dennis Wilke (7th – $41,017).

Halpern kept within reach of the top spot that Konarske had overtaken with his pair of knockouts by earning one of his own. His pocket queens beat out the A-K of Josh Light (6th – $52,223) to narrow the field to five.

Z Stein was the next to fall. He got all-in with pocket sixes racing against Konarske’s A-J. Konarske rivered the broadway straight to secure the pot and the bounty, while Stein was sent to the rail in fifth place ($67,327).

Aaron Massey’s run in this event came to an end in a three-way all-in. The 2012 River Poekr Series main event winner took home $90,901 for what was his 308th recorded tournament cash. He now has nearly $4.9 million in career earnings. He also secured 540 POY points for his strong showing. This was his third POY-qualified final-table finish of the year. He now sits in 12th place on the POY leaderboard.

Laszlo Nagy was left short after the three-way all-in that eliminated Massey. He got all-in moments later and was called by both of his opponents. Halpern made a wheel by the river to scoop the pot and eliminate Nagy in third place ($119,863).

Konarske and Halpern decided to make a deal. Konarske held the chip lead, and a as a result was awarded the title and the top payout of $222,000. Halpern locked up $200,000 as the runner-up finisher. He also earned 900 POY points for his second final table of the year. He climbed into 16th place in the standings as a result.

Here is a look at the payouts and POY points awarded at the final table:

Place Player Earnings (USD) POY Points
1 Edward Konarske $222,000 1080
2 Rambo Halpern $200,000 900
3 Laszlo Nagy $119,863 720
4 Aaron Massey $90,901 540
5 Z Stein $67,327 450
6 Josh Light $52,223 360
7 Dennis Wilke $41,017 270
8 David Yokoyama $32,862 180
9 Harrison Ashdown $27,468 90

Winner photo credit: Wynn Poker Room official Twitter account.