Mike Chiappetta Wins World Series of Poker Circuit Isle of Capri Main Event

Mike Chiappetta Wins World Series of Poker Circuit Isle of Capri Main Event

The World Series of Poker Circuit crowned its latest main event champion on Monday evening at the Isle of Capri Casino in Pompano Beach, Florida. The 2022 WSOPC Isle of Capri $1,700 buy-in no-limit hold’em main event title was won by Boca Raton resident Mike Chiappetta. He topped a field of 726 entries, defeating bracelet winner and World Poker Tour champion James Calderaro heads-up for the title to secure $200,196 and his first WSOPC gold ring.

This was the largest score yet on Chiappetta’s tournament resume, blowing away the $82,449 he earned as the winner of a $600 buy-in event at the Seminole Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Hollywood Escalator VI series. With 85 career cashes, including five titles won, Chiapetta now has nearly $795,000 in lifetime earnings to his name.

Chiappetta was also awarded 912 Card Player Player of the Year points for the win. This was his second title and fifth final-table finish of the year. With $403,179 in year-to-date POY earnings and 2,248 total points, Chiappetta has climbed into 84th place in the 2022 POY race sponsored by Global Poker.

“I’ve been running pretty good this year. Made some changes to the game and it’s working out,” Chiappetta told WSOP reporters after capturing his first piece of WSOP hardware.

This event played out over the course of five total days, with three starting flights and two more days of action required to determine the victor. The top 106 finishers made the money, with big names like three-time bracelet winner and five-time ring winner Phillip Hui (46th), Scott Baumstein (44th), WSOPC Harrah’s Cherokee main event winner Brett Bader (19th), and Jake Schwartz (18th) making deep runs.

The final day of the event began with just seven contenders remaining and James Calderaro in the lead. Chiappetta was in third chip position when cards got back in the air. He soon added to his stack in a big way, picking up pocket aces against the pocket jacks of Matthew Zarcadoolas (7th – $29,841) and holding to narrow the field to six. He then won a flip with pocket sevens racing against the A-K of David Tuthill (6th – $38,644) to expand his lead.

Eric Yanovsky scored the next knockout, with his 8-7 suited outrunning the pocket threes of Anibal Salazar (5th – $50,705). Despite winning that hand, Yanovsky was ultimately eliminated in fourth place when his pocket jacks could not hold up facing the A-J of Rafael Reis. An ace-high flop saw Reis surge into the lead. He held from there to send Yanovsky packing with $67,399 for his efforts.

Reis called off the last of his short stack with top two pair facing ace high and backdoor straight and flush possibilities for Chiappetta. The turn and river did indeed give Chiappetta a running jack-high straight for the win, resulting in Reis finishing third ($90,744).

James CalderaroWith that heads-up play began with a virtual tie between Chiappetta and Calderaro. The bracelet winner and WPT champ hopped out to an early lead, but a flush-over-flush in favor of Chiappetta turned the tables.

In the final hand of the tournament, Calderaro raised from the button with AHeart SuitADiamond Suit and Chiappetta defended his big blind with 5Heart Suit4Heart Suit. The flop came down 10Heart Suit9Heart Suit2Heart Suit to give Chiappetta a flush. He checked and Calderaro made a continuation bet with his overpair and nut flush draw. Chiappetta unleashed a check-raise, which was met with an all-in move from Calderaro. Chiappetta made the call and the turn brought the 7Spade Suit. Calderaro needed a heart on the river to keep his hopes alive, but the 9Spade Suit on the end instead sent the pot to Chiappetta. Calderaro was awarded $123,731 as the runner-up, increasing his lifetime tournament earnings to nearly $5.4 million.

Here is a look at the payouts and POY points awarded at the final table:

Place Player Earnings POY Points
1 Mike Chiappetta $200,196 912
2 James Calderaro $123,731 760
3 Rafael Reis $90,744 608
4 Eric Yanovsky $67,399 456
5 Anibal Salazar $50,705 380
6 David Tuthill $38,644 304
7 Matthew Zarcadoolas $29,841 228
8 Steven Karp $23,353 152
9 Evan Beard $18,523 76

Photos provided by WSOP.