Dawson, owner of Rich Strike, and Kearney Named 2022 New Owners of the Year

OwnerView announced Nov. 15 that 2022 New Owner of the Year, sponsored by 1/ST RACING, was a dead heat between Richard Dawson and Pat Kearney.

Dawson races under the name Red TR Racing, which campaigns Rich Strike, winner of the 2022 Kentucky Derby Presented by Woodford Reserve. Dawson began racing his first Thoroughbred in 2019, and he and trainer Eric Reed claimed Rich Strike in a $30,000 maiden claiming race at Churchill Downs in September 2021. Dawson has only five horses in his stable, and Rich Strike and a horse named Common Bond are his only horses in training.

“I can’t believe my luck in acquiring Rich Strike and achieving so much in such a short time in the sport,” Dawson said. “I can’t thank my trainer, Eric Reed, and all of our connections, including Rich Strikes’ jockey, Sonny Leon, enough. I am honored and humbled to receive this award.”

Kearney entered the Thoroughbred industry in 2021 and was rewarded with a black-type winner in Kathleen O. His first Thoroughbred purchase, Kathleen O. was bought for $275,000 at the April 2021 Ocala Breeders’ Sales 2-Year-Olds in Training Sale by trainer Shug McGaughey. Kathleen O. races under Kearney’s Winngate Stables and has won four of her five starts, including two graded stakes. Winngate’s other runner, Cloudy, has won three of his last four starts.

“I have been a racing fan for years and thought I was imposing on my friend Shug when I asked him help me get into racing, but I’m so glad I did it,” Kearney said. “Purchasing Kathleen O. was an amazing decision, and I am thrilled to be named as a new owner of the year.”

The New Owner of the Year Award has been previously presented to MyRacehorse, Larry Best, the Churchill Downs Racing Club, Charles and Susan Chu, LNJ Foxwoods, Sol Kumin, and Boat Racing.